Strata Conference Making Data Work, Santa Clara 2012: Complete Video Compilation; O’Reilly Media

  The Strata Conference Making Data Work at Santa Clara 2012: Complete Video Compilation has to be the best collection of presentation that I have seen so far.  If you are at all interested in Big Data, Machine Learning, Hadoop, R, and many more great topics covered throughout the 106 hours and 10 minutes that you get, then this is for you.  Personally, I have been studying and very interested in topics related to Machine learning, Information Retrieval, and Data Mining ever since starting my masters back in 2007.  During my masters program I was exposed to many topics within the Artificial Intelligence  topic and can’t get enough even after finishing.  This is one of the major reasons, besides the presentations being really interesting, that I feel this conference is something that you should either attend next year or get this compilation of videos of this years conference or both.  One of the great things about getting this compilation instead of going to the conference, besides being less expensive, is the fact that you are able to watch every presentation if you want, where you are not able to do the same when you attend the conference.  At least I am assuming that you cannot due to the fact that it is more than 106 hrs and I believe the conference is only a week.

I can’t say that every presentation had me on the edge of my seat throughout the entire presentation, but I can say that the majority of the did and the one that didn’t I still learned a few interesting things during them.  Another great part about having all the videos is that I will be able to go back and watch them again.  I know that this will probably happen due to the volume of information that was presented during the 106 hrs, I am sure that I have not retained it all.  I can also tell you if you are interested in the topics I listed above, you will learn so much especially if new to the areas like myself.  Again I have been working in these topic areas since 2007 and I know that I can learn a lot more compared to many of the presenters.  If you have been working in this arena and have mastered many of the topics, then you might not get as much out of this as I did.  On the other hand, I bet you will still enjoy and find out new things that you did not know before.  There are just so many topics to try to master and being able to learn from what other people have experienced is a great way to accelerate your own learning.  As many people say in software engineer is to study and learn from other people by reading book, papers, documents online, and more so you can “Stand on the shoulders of giants”.

Therefore, if you are interested in these topics, a R&D researcher, or a Data Scientist, then this video compilation of the Strata Conference Making Data Work is something that you need to get.  You will not be disappointed and hopefully it will inspire you as it has me.  I would absolutely recommend this to anyone that has an interest in the many topics that is covered in this conference.  If you are interested you can find Strata Conference Making Data Work at O’Reilly Media.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

